2010 Conference


This course has been designed to provide a comprehensive and practical update of diagnostic surgical pathology. The course is primarily designed for practicing surgical pathologists, particularly those involved in community practice. The course should also be of interest for pathologists-in-training, surgeons, oncologists, and other healthcare professionals.


Agenda topics presented throughout the duration of the course included:

  • Gastrointestinal pathology
  • Urologic pathology
  • Neuropathology
  • Hematopathology
  • Gynecological pathology
  • Pancreatic and Biliary Tract pathology
  • Dermatopathology
  • Soft Tissue pathology
  • Bone pathology
  • Cytopathology
  • Problem Cases in Surgical Pathology

Course Objectives

  • Evaluate current criteria for diagnosis in various subspecialty areas of surgical pathology;
  • Recognize the proper application of immunohistochemical and other molecular techniques for the diagnosis of problematic cases; and
  • Become familiar with advances in terminology and classification of neoplastic and non-neoplastic disorders.

Guest Speakers

N. Volkan Adsay, MD
Vice Chair and Director of Anatomic Pathology
Emory University

Richard Cote, MD
Professor and Chairman, Department of Pathology
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine

John Goldblum, MD
Chairman, Department of Anatomic Pathology
Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Alexander Mackinnon, MD, PhD
Department of Molecular Genetics
University of Chicago School of Medicine

Anais Malpica, MD
Professor, Department of Pathology
MD anderson Cancer Center

Markku Miettinen, MD, PhD
Chairman, Department of Soft Tissue Pathology
Armed Forces Insititute of Pathology

Krishnan Unni, MB, MS
Professor of Pathology – Emeritus
The Mayo Clinic

MCW Faculty Speakers

Elizabeth Cochran, MD
Professor of Pathology;
Director of Neuropathology

Alexandra Harrington, MD
Assistant Professor of Pathology;
Director of Coagulation

Steven Kroft, MD
Professor of Pathology;
Director of Hematopathology

Jose A. Plaza, MD
Assistant Professor of Pathology;
Director of Dermatopathology

Arjun Rao, MD
Associate Professor of Pathology;
Director of Cytopathology

Saul Suster, MD
Professor and Chairman;
Department of Pathology

Eduardo V. Zambrano, MD
Associate Professor of Pathology