Archive for News

Dr. Marja Nevalainen named Assistant Dean for Research

August 30, 2017  |  Department News

Marja T. Nevalainen, MD, PhD, Professor of Pathology and Associate Director of Education for the Cancer Center, was recently named Assistant Dean for Research. Dr. Nevalainen joins current Office of Research leaders Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH, MACP, Senior Associate Dean for Research; Cecelia Hillard, PhD, Associate Dean for Research; and Lisa Henk, MS, Chief Administrator for Research Operations. With her experience in cancer research, drug development, clinical trials and therapies, Dr. Nevalainen brings translational research expertise to the Office.

Dr. Nevalainen is an internationally recognized prostate cancer researcher. Her work has been funded by the NIH’s National Cancer Institute, the Department of Defense, the American Cancer Society, and several industry sponsors. Many patents and licensing agreements have been developed in the Nevalainen Lab. She is frequently invited to speak to international audiences, including the Gordon Conferences, the Endocrine Society and the European Association of Urological Research. Her work has appeared in the Journal of Clinical Oncology, Journal of Clinical Investigation, Clinical Cancer Research, Nature Urology, Cancer Research and Molecular Cancer Therapeutics, and she has been a long time Senior Editor for Elsevier’s Journal of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, and Editorial Board Member for the American Journal of Pathology and The Prostate. A passionate educator, Dr. Nevalainen has mentored dozens of students and is an important leader in the MCW Cancer Center’s education programs. Dr. Nevalainen has served in a number of grant review panels including NCI, American Cancer Society and DOD Prostate Cancer Integration Panel over multiple years. She is warmly welcomed to her new role in the Office of Research.

Save-the-Date 2018 Midwestern Conference

August 9, 2017  |  Department News

Save-the-Date announcement for Midwestern Conference 2018

Friday-Sunday, September 14-16, 2018
Milwaukee, WI
Details Coming Soon!

Email me when information is available

2017 Graduation Dinner

2017 Graduation Dinner

June 9, 2017  |  Department News, News

Congratulations 2017 Graduates!

The Department of Pathology celebrated our graduating Residents and Fellows at a dinner on Saturday, May 20, 2017. It was a wonderful evening filled with lots of laughter. In addition to our graduates, awards were also given to Catherine Hagen, MD (Teaching Faculty of the Year) and Amanda Hopp, MD (Myron Schuster, MD, Endowed Award for a Promising Resident).

Our graduates will be moving on to the following new adventures:

Daniel Abbott, MD, Cytopathology Fellowship, Medical College of Wisconsin

Peter Bonneau, MD, Cytopathology Fellowship/Active Duty US Air Force, San Antonio Military Medical Center

Luis Carrillo Polanco, MD, Hematopathology Fellowship, Medical College of Wisconsin

Daniel Rowan, MD, GI/Liver Fellowship, Medical College of Wisconsin

Bjorn Batdorf, MD, Surgical Pathology Fellowship, University North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Rajib Gupta, MD, Hematopathology Fellowship, University of Minnesota

Razvan Lapadat, MD, Assistant Professor, Loyola University Medical Center

Chief Resident Announcement

Chief Resident Announcement

The Department of Pathology is happy to announce that Amrou Abdelkader, MD has accepted the position of Chief Resident. Amrou will take over the position starting on April 1, 2017.

We would also like to thank Daniel Rowan, MD for his leadership this last year.

Match Day 2017

Match Day 2017

On Friday, March 17, graduating medical students across the country found out where they will be doing their post-graduate residency training. The Department of Pathology is pleased to announce our new incoming residents for 2017-2018. Joining our team will be Frank Walch, MD, St. George’s University School of Medicine; Gustavo Moreno, MD, Universidad de Cuenca Facultad de Ciencias Médicas; Wegahta Weldemichael, MD, Gondar College of Medicine and Health Sciences; and Youssef Farhat, MD, University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. We are excited to have them joining our program, and we look forward to seeing them in July.